Real World Design Challenge: Trying to fix the ATM

Fellow designers.
How about we try our hands on some real world problems.

Brief:
Of all the technological advancements of daily devices and services, one of the few that has barely changed is the ATM. Surely the machines improved, but the underlying system pretty much remained the same.

So take a bit of time to study the User Interface + User Interactions for a ATM, try to figure out a way to optimise the user experience/flows, considering the kind of people that use it frequently. Remember, it’s not just about making it look better, its about making it work better (and faster) for the people using it.

Begin.

I’m no designer. However been doing some hobby research on UX around ATM. Took these pictures last Friday and might be useful for this design challenge:

Interestingly enough it’s NFC enabled so a nod to the new

Advert while waiting is expected…

But ability to save ‘favourite’ is clever since it means prompts/steps are reduced next time

So this is how ‘My Favorites’ profile looks

Well well, i stand corrected. There has been some advancements. Not just the ones i’ve been seeing locally. This should prove insighful. Thanks man

Obviously, that ATM isn’t Nigerian. So let’s say we bring it home. Can someone design an optimum overall user flow for a Nigerian ATM?

I’ll be going all in on this.

I’m watching this thread closely. adjusting googles

I love this. Never thought of it anyways.

In my opinion, one key area ATMs across the world have not figured out yet is “authentication” - making sure the person inserting that card into the machine is the genuine owner of the account during transaction (not an alert after cash has left the account)

Future UI/UX has to incorporate that.